Je m’appelle…

It’s been a LONG while so just to get my going, here is a nice short little “This is where my name comes from” post. 🙂

Growing up I had a love – hate relationship with my name.  Okay…really it was more of a hate-hate relationship. I was surrounded by people named Julianne,  Sadie, and Kylie and then there was me.

Lora.  Just plain Lora.

Granted, I did have the fact that my name was spelled differently than the traditional ‘Laura’ (Which, where I spent my younger years in Carnegie,  Pennsylvania,  we pronounced LAH-ra as opposed to. ..well Lora.) going for me.  However, I heavily disliked having to constantly correct people in spelling it.

My middle name is equally as traditional and normal as my first:  Christine.  There was no way I was going by that…there were already too many Christine running around.  I guess my I’ll feelings towards my name weren’t helped by living in a predominantly black neighborhood with an abundance of colorful and ethnic names.  So I hated it.

Now that I am older, I have a better appreciation for it.  I was named after both my grandmothers.   My mom’s mom (Christine) passed away a few years before I was born and my dad’s mom (Laura) passed away on my sister’s birthday during my senior year of high school.  I view my name as a sort of legacy…a tie to the woman I never knew and the one I had to give up.  I also enjoy the fact that my name comes from the laurel tree which is a sign of victory 😉

On some days, I still dislike my name, but then I hear one of my nieces say it and I can’t help but smile (especially the younger two who are 8 and 3 1/2).  Kids makes everything sound great.

-lora

About misplacedselchie

I enjoy random writing related thoughts, plot bunnies, and good books. One of these days I'll get my own book finished.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

