Book Review; Honor Among Orcs by Amalia Dillin

Why hello there again and welcome :). Today I am reviewing the book Honor Among Orcs by Amalia Dillin.  I read this one for the 2015 Reading Challenge‘s “book with nonhuman characters”.  Actually, that is the current week/challenge, but as I was waiting for last week’s book to be available at the library (Red Rising by Pierce Brown), I decided to skip ahead a week and take on my lovely orc book.

Orcs are pretty cool, I’m not going to lie. I think that they are vastly underrated as heroes and heroines, or even main characters. I can just barely remember reading a book a long time ago with some good orc characters that weren’t driven by a need to slaughter and steal. I blame Tolkein for this.

But anyways, I digress.

image

I really enjoyed this book. Immensely. It follows two main characters; a human princess named Arianna, and an orc warrior/leader named Bolthorn.

Arianna has a pretty crappy life. Her father uses her as a whipping girl and ” gifts” her to the equally mean Lord Alviss to basically abuse. She hates being obedient and dreams of being free, but knows it is impossible. One day while running from Alviss, she ducks in to her late mother’s room which is off limits. Inside, she finds a mirror and inside the mirror…well in there is a prisoner. An orc named Bolthorn.

They are inextricably bound together and see freedom and escape in each other.

I loved the world building and the mythos.  Dillin went the Tolkien route; the orcs were once elves that were kidnapped and ‘created’ into the ‘monsters’ they are. Well, in the beginning they were monsters, incapable of knowing or remembering love. Now though they know love. Which is really good for Arianna.

My biggest complaint is that I could have done without some of the *ahem* R rated scenes.  They weren’t awful though (read: they didn’t take up pages and pages and were easy to skim over).

Seriously though, read this book. It is such a great take on orcs. I will definitely be checking out the rest of the series and other works by Amalia Dillon.

About misplacedselchie

I enjoy random writing related thoughts, plot bunnies, and good books.
This entry was posted in book reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

