Book Review; The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith

This review is a little early, but you know…I read it early, lol.  I had this one picked for week ten of the 2015 Reading Challenge; a mystery or thriller and while trying my best to keep in order, it does get difficult when you have little money and the library doesn’t have the book you need in.  So, oops to my bad planning 😉

After spending a good portion of last year pouring through the entirety of Sherlock Holmes (I have this beautiful edition here that my husband bought me for Christmas.), I have started to realize that I enjoy mysteries. I like trying to solve the “who did it” and put the pieces together. I am not always good at it though, and that was made very apparent by Robert Galbraith’s The Cuckoo’s Calling.

image

So real quick I just want to say/point out that yes, I knew that this was JK Rowling and yes, that did play some on why I picked it. I’m a huge Potterhead and I love the world and characters she created there so of course I would naturally want to check out other books by her. I can’t say I was disappointed.

The Cuckoo’s Calling follows private investigator Cormoran Strike (and his temporary secretary, Robin) as he looks into a closed case of what appears to be a suicide jump by famed model Lula Landry. Her brother, a lawyer named John Bristow, is the one who hires Strike to uncover the truth. There is a plethora of colorful characters Strike has to move through as he works his way through Lula’s last encounters with her friends and family. It is a diverse cast going from close friend and famed designer Guy Some all the way down to impoverished addict Rochelle Onifade.

Really, it is a great story about an adopted girl of mixed origin trying to find out where she fits in in the world.  As you read, Lula takes on an amazing sense of humanness, almost coming off the pages to become a certain type of banner for the real struggle facing people in these circumstances. She was born to a white woman, obviously has a black father, and is adopted and raised in a white home. From interviews with her close friends you can tell Lula is struggling to find her roots and where she belongs.

I think this is something I enjoy about Rowling’s writings, the way she seamlessly melds in societal problems in her works.

But anyways, I digress.

The Cuckoo’s Calling is a great mystery (or ‘crime fiction’ as it is now called) with a great cast and beautiful writing. The ending will leave you surprised. My only complaint was some of the language. I recommend this book to anyone, even those that don’t normally read crime fiction/mysteries. And for people like me who grew up in her fantastical world, this is a great new series by her to continue on with.

About misplacedselchie

I enjoy random writing related thoughts, plot bunnies, and good books.
This entry was posted in book reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

