Book Review: Domechild by Shiv Ramdas

I have mentioned before what some of my “literary turn offs” are. It was back in my review on Red Rising, but if you missed that it’s okay, I will reiterate 😉

I’m a huge fantasy nerd. Give me wizards, dragons, elves, drow, orcs, elementals, magic, sword fighting, pirates, fey, et cetera any day and I will gobble them up. (Figuratively of course, I think I stopped eating paper sometime in elementary…). I’m also a lover of historical fiction, fairy tales, mythology, and I’ve been known to sit down and enjoy a good, old-fashioned piece of regular fiction every now and again. Really, I’ll almost read anything.

However, there are (so far) two styles I tend to stay away from. The first is any book I can tell is going to be just plain sad (examples: The Fault in Our Stars, Marley & Me). I know how those books are going to end, thank you!

The other style is those futuristic/post apocalyptic books with a lot of robots and that sort of thing.  I just don’t really like robots and all that jazz. This got to where my friends would get annoyed because while I love Warhammer, I thought 40k was crap. They can have their robots, I’ll take my elves and dwarves. (Interestingly enough, I wonder if this reflects a deeper level of our subconsciousness. I think of it as a science vs magic sort of thing, or even science vs faith. Thinking on it, many of the people I know who loved 40k were borderline atheists.  Or maybe I’m looking too far in….lol )

So Shiv Ramdas’ Domechild was a bit of a stretch for me. It’s a futuristic book that has robots doing everything and a lot of history in the book deals with the nanotechnology sort of stuff. Not up my alley in the least. Many people in the NaNoWriMo group I am in however (which includes the author) highly recommended it, and I needed a book with a one word title.  So I sighed and wrote it down and took my leap of faith.

Wow.
Seriously. Wow.
I couldn’t put it down.

Domechild introduces us to a world where the survivors of the human race are living, well, under a dome. Not the Stephen King kind though. In this society family units are disbanded, friendships are pretty much forbidden, curfews are enforced are lawbots, and all cleaning is done by sanitation bots. People don’t actually have to work, but those in charge deemed that an unfit idea so everyone has to. The work consists of, well basically Facebooking and social media (however, they can never talk to the same person twice.). It is in this world we meet Albert, our main character.

Albert is, in essence, an ordinary citizen who takes a wrong turn walking home one day. That turn changes his life when he runs into a gang of thug children. When the lawbots show up and kill almost all the children, Albert chooses to aid the lone surviving one, Theo, and see it somehow to safety. What he doesn’t expect is for a machine to blackmail him the very next day in order to get him to petition to kill it.

The petition puts Albert out as Public Enemy number 1, even though it technically is legal, and he and Theo are forced on the run. From here we meet an incredibly colorful cast of characters (Ollie, June, Marcus, Colby, Kieran, Zain) that help to get Albert and Theo out of the City and underground to Sanctuary.

Sanctuary, however is brewing and on the cusp of a revolution.

I would love to go on, but then I would seriously be spoiling this book. Shiv has a great writing style and weaves this amazing world together seamlessly. It twists and turns and when you think you know what is about to happen, it twists again. When you’re sure you know a character, you don’t. Or did you?

Nothing is really as it seems in this post-apocalyptic world. Just be warned: you will fly through this book and the ending will leave you hanging and wanting more.

And you’ll even forgive the lack of glitter.

About misplacedselchie

I enjoy random writing related thoughts, plot bunnies, and good books. One of these days I'll get my own book finished.
This entry was posted in book reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book Review: Domechild by Shiv Ramdas

  1. Brad Werner says:

    Marvelous review. Thank you for writing it and sharing.

Leave a Reply

