Book Review: Puck’s Choice by Skye Hegyes

I am trying to remember the last shifter book I read. I guess I could classify The Wheel of Time series since Perrin can turn into a wolf. Other than that it would have to be Tamora Pierce’s The Immortals quartet. And before that was probably…Animorphs. Wait… No I lied. It would be the Kiesha’ra Series by Amelia Atwater-Rhodes (The first book is Hawksong…go buy it.) and then Animorphs. Or something.

Now I have a new shifter series to keep an eye out for.

“Life was simpler as a fox”

 

Puck’s Choice is the first book in the Shifters & Mages Books series by Skye Hegyes. It follows a girl named Puck Dupree as she tries to reintegrate herself into normal human society after living over a year trapped in her fox form. Because she was kicked out of her parents’, when she is finally able to regain her human form, she moves in with her sister Fancy in Apple Creek.

While a good portion of this book can be said to take place in the high school, it’s in no way boring. Puck’s time as a semi-permanent fox makes her react to some things in a more animalistic way, so it is interesting to watch her work on appearing normal.

Every day her best friend Jay, whom she has known for quite some time, picks her up  for school. He introduces her to his friends (Iris and Daren) who quickly take her under their wing. The third friend, Rand makes Puck feel a mixture of unease and intrigue as she keeps getting drawn towards him.  But besides that, she finds herself slowly being able to merge back into teenage life.

Then she starts catching glimpses of someone from her past. Someone that makes her hair stand on end. Her sister also introduces her to a friend’s daughter who happens to be showing early signs of being a mage. But she’s being followed home by someone every day.

Then there is the Council. For reasons that haven’t been made entirely clear, they don’t like Puck. At all. Especially since she hasn’t picked her mage partner. Even though they don’t like her, they promise her past can’t catch up to her and she trusts them. But can their word really live up to it?

I blew through this book rather quickly. There is a lot more I can talk about, but then I’ll start giving some things away.  It had some rather unexpected twists that I definitely did not see coming, and some cute little romantic moments tied up all nicely in it. I was rather disappointed when it ended and I realised that the next one isn’t out yet. A definite to-read if you enjoy shifter books!

My only complaint is that I got a little confused from a comment in the beginning that made it seem like Shifters couldn’t tell who else was a Shifter and then later on she smelled a wolf.  Upon looking at it a second time, I realized the comment was talking about how their eyes could change. But still, it leaves me confused on how she didn’t see a certain person being a Shifter from looking at their eyes? And it also doesn’t explain how she missed another shifter by scent? Maybe I missed something ?(lol)

Either way, it is still worth the read and I can’t wait for the next one.

About misplacedselchie

I enjoy random writing related thoughts, plot bunnies, and good books. One of these days I'll get my own book finished.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

