Book Review: Guilty By Association by E.A Copen

I am obligated to say that I received an ARC of this book in return for an honest review.

Now that that is out of the way, I can be honest here.

Holy shit.
This damn book.
Was freaking awesome.

I finished it in two sittings after my son went to bed and I just flew through it. As the late hours ticked into early ones, I really didn’t want to put it down. I needed to know what happened.

“Most people these days look without seeing, listen without hearing, and speak without words. People are lost.”

 

Okay. So down to business here. Guilty By Association will be the debut novel and kickoff of the Judah Black Series by E.A. Copen. It is an urban fantasy that is slated for release April 1st and I don’t understand why you haven’t gone and pre-ordered it yet. There will possibly be 16 books in the series. I am so ridiculously okay with this.

It follows Judah Black, a federal agent with the Bureau of Supernatural Investigations (BSI) as she tries to solve the murder of a werewolf on the reservation she was assigned to. In this universe, the supernatural creatures are (obviously) known and reservations were created by the government to basically dump them in. This one is the
Paint Rock Supernatural Reservation and Sovereign Fae Nations located in Paint Rock, Texas. And they do not like Judah very much.

The investigation takes some interesting turns as it becomes increasingly more obvious that it wasn’t a drug deal as local Detective Brian Tindall wants to originally write it off as.

On top of trying to solve this murder, she is also a single mother raising her eleven year old son, Hunter.

The banter between Judah and other characters is spot-on and great. So many awesome one-liners. The world is diverse and complex, drawing me in from the very first page. If you enjoyed Grave Beginnings, The Dresden Files, or The Greywalker Series then you need to keep your eye out for EA Copen and pre-order this book now.

About misplacedselchie

I enjoy random writing related thoughts, plot bunnies, and good books. One of these days I'll get my own book finished.
This entry was posted in book reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book Review: Guilty By Association by E.A Copen

  1. Oo, you just mentioned my three favorite series. If it’s like those, then you’re right, I need to pre-order this book.

  2. Pingback: Review: Blood Debt by E.A. Copen – The Misplaced Selchie

Leave a Reply

