Book Review: A Fox’s Love by Brandon Varnell

I received this for free in exchange for an honest review.

Why hello there friends! I think I am making it through my millions of books at a relatively good pace here. Which is saying something because I’ve been rather sick lately. I’ve had the unlucky chance of getting shingles. Which sucks by the way. It alternates between awful lightening pain and uncontrollable itchiness. I would not wish this on my worst enemy.

But anyways, I has a book review! And by the end of the week I should have a review for Barely Awake. Like I said I’m on a roll over here.

And my medicine is making me a little tired and loopy.

 

“There was just something off about that fox. Granted, the super healing abilities kind of made that obvious…”

A Fox’s Love is the first book in the series American Kitsune by Brandon Varnell. It is his debut novel and centers around a teenage boy named Kevin who is obsessed with anime, manga, and video games. On his way home one day he comes across an injured fox and takes her home. Little does he know, she’s a kitsune and his life is about to turn upside down and inside out.

Lillian is everything you’d expect a kitsune to be: cuddly, playful, devious, and perhaps a bit obsessed with sex. And by a little I mean very.

This book reads like the novelization of a manga or an anime. It has the classic tropes and shenanigans you find in the genre and quite a few times has Lillian breaking the Fourth Wall. I laughed a lot when reading this. I actually had to stop reading it in bed because I couldn’t stop giggling.

Brandon also managed to write a character I absolutely despise up there with the likes of Dolores Umbridge and  Ramsay Bolton. I would like nothing more than to punch Kevin’s best friend Eric. Repeatedly. With a dull knife. Except I wouldn’t want to get that close to him.

There were some grammatical mistakes, some more glaringly obvious than others. A few of them made me have to stop and reread the sentence. All in all though, this was a good debut. Very amusing. I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys anime and manga. It’s an Easter egg hunt of references, although I’m surprised that Master Roshi was never mentioned. -shocked gasp-

About misplacedselchie

I enjoy random writing related thoughts, plot bunnies, and good books. One of these days I'll get my own book finished.
This entry was posted in book reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review: A Fox’s Love by Brandon Varnell

  1. Akaluv says:

    I’ve read some of Bradon’s work in the past, he is a really nice person. Good review 🙂

Leave a Reply

